Patterson House Jewelry Inspiration

Last summer I visited the Ardenwood Historic Farm (and Patterson House, located on the property) in Fremont, CA. If you live in the bay area and haven’t been here yet, I recommend it! This place is pretty awesome. They have various gardens and animals (sheep, goats, etc.) as well as an on-site blacksmith. Throughout the year they hold various events and festivals, depending on the season. It’s a great place for kids, but I’m an adult (sans kids) and I had fun too.

 

The highlight for me was the gorgeous Victorian Patterson House, the focal point of the property. This home was built by George Patterson in the mid 1800s, and underwent various additions and renovations throughout the remainder of the century. Let me tell you – this place is GORGEOUS. They have a lot of the original furniture, which thankfully has stayed with the family, and the architecture of the building is just beautiful. Each room in the house has so many historical nooks and crannies, you could spend all day in there. I took a guided tour with a dear friend of mine, but to be honest, we ended up ‘lagging’ behind everyone else, because we couldn’t stop photographing everything we laid eyes on!

 

By the time we finished the house tour, I was inspired. I knew this house was going to be influential in my designs, especially for bridal. I already completed an entire Spring Bridal Collection based on this amazing Art Nouveau chandelier in one of the bedrooms:

 

Patterson House chandelier - by Victoria Camp

 

Stunning, isn’t it? It’s not only one of my favorite pieces from the home, but one of my favorite chandeliers of all time. Ever. Seriously.

 

Anyway, every time I look at the pictures from this home, I get inspired all over again. Here’s a few favorites that inspired some new pieces in my shop..

Front partial view of the Patterson house. Check out the gorgeous molding!

 

I would love one of these benches for my patio!

 

One of the guest bedrooms, with a wedding gown from one of the family members’ weddings. (Love the ruffles on the hem!) Not to mention the elaborate bed frame!

 

Antique undergarments. So pretty!

 

This bustle frame was seriously amazing and elaborate!

 

The lace on the gloves! Omg! I love everything that’s in this photo, right down to the rose wallpaper. Can you believe this was a guest bedroom?!

 

This was in a closet. Actually there was a technical term for this room, but I forgot what it was. (It was sort of a dual purpose washroom and closet.)

 

This would not be complete without a pair of pointy toed ribbon topped shoes! So darling!

 

Can you see why I was inspired?

 

Here’s a couple of new designs I made based on my Patterson House guest bedroom inspiration..

 

 

White Rose White Pearls Bridal Necklace with Ribbon Tie - Victoria Camp Designs

Hand formed white clay rose, white freshwater pearls, brass chain and creamy ivory satin ribbon tie closure.

White Rose White Pearls Bridal Necklace with Ribbon Tie (2) - Victoria Camp Designs

 http://www.etsy.com/listing/99495719/white-rose-and-white-pearl-ribbon

Peach Pink Rose White Pearls Locket Necklace - Victoria Camp Designs

Peachy pink hand formed clay rose, white freshwater pearls and a tiny brass locket, on brass chain.

 

Peach Pink Rose White Pearls Locket Necklace 2 - Victoria Camp Designs

http://www.etsy.com/listing/99494344/pink-rose-and-white-pearl-locket

That’s all for today. I hope everyone has a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

