Banana Oat Dog Cupcakes – Butters on the KOFY TV Dog Election Campaign Trail!

I’m not entirely sure how I’ve managed to maintain this blog for over a year and never mention our pup, Butters, given that he’s a constant source of entertainment around our home! Butters was a foster dog that we adopted in the summer of 2008; to our best guess, a Jack Russell Terrier/Dachshund mix…and quite possibly the sweetest dog I’ve ever known.


Butters loves nothing more than laying in the sunshine, and accompanying us wherever possible – hiking, in particular. (Although he’s just as happy being a beach bum, laying on a blanket with us by the ocean…or on the couch watching tv!)

Butters – whether he is aware or not – is entered into a “Dog Mayor Election” hosted by our local tv station, KOFY TV. KOFY considers themselves a dog-friendly station; they have “Dog IDs” that they air during commercial breaks.. short clips of dogs sitting in a studio set that looks like a living room..with a blurb at the bottom displaying the name of the dog, and what city they live in.

When I saw that they were having a dog election, obviously I had to enter Butters! Each dog at the audition had their Dog ID filmed for television as well, so regardless of who wins, we can still see Butters on tv at some point!

Butters and I on the KOFY TV Election set!

In the spirit of the dog election, I made some “campaign” photos!

The way the competition works is that each dog is a contestant for the county they live in. Everyone votes for their favorite dog until the end of the month. The top 3 dogs from each county move on to the next round of voting, and stop by the studio for an interview. Voting for that round is in October. The final winners from each county are featured in the KOFY TV Dog Calendar.  Pretty adorable, right? If you want to vote for Butters (you can vote once per day) please go here to register and vote: http://kofyclub.upickem.net/r/33U6b53NmY7?r=274427

Since Butters has been such a good sport, I decided to make him some dog-friendly cupcakes just for him!

Campaign themed, naturally.

“Can I eat this?”

.. it was inevitable.. he crashed my photo shoot! Post-photo, I took out the decoration and removed the wrapper for him, so he could dig in.

Here’s some photos of the process…

Mixing the batter.

Ready to go into the oven.

Ready for frosting!

Here’s the recipes I used, with slight modifications:

Three Dog Bakery Banana Honey Cake

Ingredients:

2 cups water
2 bananas
1/8 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 tablespoon baking powder
1 egg
2 tablespoons honey
Directions:

1 Preheat oven to 350°F In a bowl combine water, bananas, vanilla, egg and honey. Then add whole wheat flour and baking powder. Mix well.
2 Pour mixture into a 8-inch cake pan sprayed with a nonstick spray.
3 Bake for 1 hour to 1 hour 15 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out dry.

(I used half of the recipe, which made 8 cupcakes using silicon molds. I also replaced 1/4 C of the flour with oats. I then baked them for 20 minutes, which seemed just right. I think they would have been fine at 17 mins. as well.)
—-
Ingredients:
2 cups mashed banana
1 tablespoons softened butter
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 tablespoons flour

Directions: Mix until combined. (I substituted 2TB of peanut butter, instead of the butter, and omitted the vanilla extract.)

4 thoughts on “Banana Oat Dog Cupcakes – Butters on the KOFY TV Dog Election Campaign Trail!

    • Butters is such a good dog. I usually make him doggy cookies/treats but thought I would try something different. The cupcakes smelled really good! I’m sure they would have tasted just fine for humans if they had some sugar & butter in them. :)

  1. This is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen! I’m going to make these for my pooch, I think! Love the cupcake decorations “Race for the dog house”. Hehehe. Butters is gorgeous!

  2. Butters! I had a ferret named Butters, one of the sweetest animals ever – I think it’s inherent in the name..:) Those cupcakes look great, make me wish I had a dog to make them for. Good luck Butters!

Leave a Reply

